Loading Events

« All Events

Student Sensemaking for Teachers

November 8 - November 18

$700.00

This Student Sensemaking professional learning supports science teachers in advancing their understanding of the OpenSciEd approach generally while going deep into a specific science unit (6.2 Thermal Energy, 7.2 Chemical Reactions and Energy, or 8.2 Sound Waves). Learning is designed to deepen content knowledge, planning, instruction, and data analysis practices. Included in this session are opportunities for teachers to:

  • Reflect on successes and challenges of implementation of OpenSciEd units
  • Identify OpenSciEd key instructional elements for teaching and learning
  • Examine classroom video and artifacts from OpenSciEd units in relation to the key instructional elements
  • Engage in the actual lessons of the unit as a student

This professional learning assumes the prerequisite completion of OpenSciEd Curriculum Launch professional learning and previous experience teaching an OpenSciEd unit. That being said, this event is open to all educators. We would recommend that you register for the OpenSciEd and edsUP Curriculum Pilot Launch that provides a blended approach with limited synchronous time and a reduced price. If you have limited experience with OpenSciEd, please expect an email from the event’s facilitators with a suggested self-guided learning task prior to the event.

In an effort to increase accessibility for teachers, we are offering this event at three different time slots (or cohorts). All sessions are virtual. Please select the cohort you wish to attend when registering. If you are interested in the Facilitator version of this event, please click HERE.

Option 1: Two full days of PL – November 17 & 18; 10:00-5:00 CST (11:00-6:00 EST; 8:00-3:00 PST)

Option 2: Four half days of PL  – November 8, 10, 15, & 17; 3:30-6:30 CST (4:30-6:30 EST; 1:30-4:30 PST)

Option 3: Four half days of PL – November 8, 10, 15, & 17; 3:30-6:30 PST (5:30-8:30 CST; 6:30-9:30 EST)

 

Cost: $700 per participant

Registration closes October 19th.

Details

Start:
November 8
End:
November 18
Cost:
$700.00
Event Category:

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Option 3: Four half days of PL Pacific Time
This ticket enrolls you in the four half days of PL - November 8, 10, 15, and 17; 3:30-6:30 PST
$ 700.00
270 available
Option 1: Two full days of PL
This ticket enrolls you in the two full days of PL on November 17 & 18; 11-6 EST
$ 700.00
270 available
Option 2: Four half days of PL Central Time
This ticket enrolls you in the 4 half days of PL  - November 8, 10, 15, & 17; 3:30-6:30 CST
$ 700.00
270 available